top of page


T O R Q  P E R F O R M A N C E  Since its conception in 2003, the TORQ Performance Mountain Bike team has grown into one of the UK’s most recognised and established, domestic level professional mountain bike racing teams. Now in its 11th year of racing, 2014 sees the team starting the season with one of the strongest rider line-ups.  , all on-board their custom liveried race spec Whyte 29c Team bikes.


The team objective remains the same, to unite some of the country’s most accomplished Mountain Bike racers into a team with unrivalled strength in depth and to set an example to everyone involved in the sport that high-end performances are achieved in symbiosis with generosity of spirit, courtesy and integrity. After being inundated with applications at the back end of the 2013 race season, and after much deliberation, 2014 sees the team start the season with a formidable squad of 14 riders, including a total of 12 elite category riders. With such a significant line up, it will be difficult not to spot a TORQ rider at a UK Mountain Bike race.


Riders continuing with the team from previous years, we have:   Neal Crampton – 2013 National Elite Marathon Champion Lydia Gould – 2012 National Veteran Marathan Champion Chris Andrews – Elite Lee Westwood – Elite Joanne Clay – Elite Ruby Miller – Elite Ben Price – Team Manager/Elite And for 2014, we welcome to the team… Alex Welburn – Elite Carla Haines – 2013 Under 23 XC Championship, Bronze Medallist Ed McParland – Elite Emily Iredale – Elite John Hopkinson – Elite Jon Pybus – Elite Alongside title sponsor and team owners, TORQ, the riders will be attending and racing all major UK Mountain Bike races and events including; The British Cycling XC MTB Series, National XC Championships and the TORQ Fuelled, Scott Marathon Series.


As always the team’s XC racing pedigree is combined with a major focus on strong performances at two of the UK’s best 12hour endurance events, Bontrager 24/12 and TORQ In Your Sleep. Further to these events, the team will also be represented at the Earlstoke 12hour, as well as a number of regional XC events including the Altura Nutcracker, Gorrick, Midlands and Southern, XC Series. 2014 is the team’s 3rd year aboard the class-leading Whyte Bikes 29c carbon framesets, in custom TORQ livery.


See more at-

bottom of page